Music: Find Sound and Video

Streaming Audio and Video Databases

Please Note: Our licenses with these streaming services only allow for a limited number of simultaneous users (seats), therefore it is very important to log off the streaming app after listening or watching - to release a seat and enable access for another user.

Met Opera on Demand
A database of full-length Met Opera performances. Includes cast lists, track listings, and synopses.
Access Note: No public performance rights of any kind are extended. Only private rights, for viewing by authorized users.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
NAXOS Music Library (NML)
NML is a comprehensive online classical music library, offering access to a growing streaming audio collection. Classic pop and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented. Students can access playlists created by their professors. Access Note: Only Faculty can create and edit playlists. Access Note: You can access NML using iPhone and iPod Touch through iTunes free download. You can access NML using Android devices through the Android Marketplace free download.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
NAXOS Music Library Jazz (NMLJ)
Comprehensive online jazz music library, offering access to a growing streaming audio collection, offering a mix of jazz legends and contemporary jazz from leading labels. NMLJ provides playing times of individual works or movements, and detailed music notes. Students can access playlists created by their professor. Access Note: Only Faculty can create and edit playlists. Please contact the Music Librarian. Access Note: You can access NML Jazz using iPhone and iPod Touch through iTunes free download. You can access NML using Android devices through the Android Marketplace free download.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Music Online: Listening
Music Online: Listening is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.

Access Note: Requires audio turned on, Flash Video Player, and browsers must be minimum:
Windows: Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.0 or higher, Firefox 3.0 or higher, and Google Chrome 1.0 or higher.
Mac OS X: Safari 1.0 or higher, Firefox 3.0 or higher, and Google Chrome 1.0 or higher.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Naxos Video Library (NVL)
The Naxos Video Library is "an extensive video streaming library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries", containing full-length videos. Important features include: subtitles available in 5 languages; libretto/text included when available; and custom clip creation. The database is searchable by category, role, composer, artist, venue and more. Access Note: Only Faculty can create and edit playlists. Please contact the Music Librarian and follow these instructions. Access Note: You can access NML using iPhone and iPod Touch iTunes free download.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Interdisciplinary Video Databases

Curio.ca
English and French language streaming video and audio from CBC/Radio-Canada, including documentaries from television and radio, news reports, drama, and children's programming. Content is curated to support K-12 and post-secondary Canadian curricula.
Faculty/instructors: For instructions on creating playlists for your class use, please follow this link https://library.usask.ca/restricted/curio.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Kanopy
A popular, trendy video streaming service with channels for Great Courses; classic, international, short, experimental films including The Criterion Collection; documentaries including Canadian; Social Issues with channels looking at Feminism, Racism, and LGBTQ; First Nations and lots more.
Access note: Internet Explorer is not supported. For a full list of supported browsers, please visit this link
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
NFB.ca: National Film Board of Canada Online
Access to over 2.500 National Film Board (NFB) of Canada films, trailers and clips. Productions available in both English and French. The Library's institutional license includes public performance rights on campus.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law. This is an institutional license including public performance rights on campus.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection
A streaming video collection of thousands of high-quality digital programs and video clips, covering topics in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, business and economics, and health. Use Films on Demand "to search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists for others to view. You can also integrate videos directly into ... distance learning courseware." Access Note: Create a user account (free), in order to create and share customized playlists, save your favourite videos for quick access and set your default preferences, Click on Create Account or Sign In on upper right corner of screen.

Now includes the Entertainment Collection.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Naxos Music Library Tutorials

DOWNLOADS

TUTORIALS

After setting up the NML app, you will need to log in using a personal/student account. Watch this tutorial video to get step-by-step instructions on how to set up an account: https://assets.naxosmusiclibrary.com/sharedfiles/NML/en/MobileAccess/

NML Android App Set-Up Tutorial : Step-by-step instructions on how to set up the NML App for Android devices.

Music: Find Sound and Video

Streaming Audio and Video Databases

Interdisciplinary Video Databases

Naxos Music Library Tutorials

How to play vinyl records