The CMPI database includes over 37,000 entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented here, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed.
Encyclopedia of Music in Canada by Helmut Kallmann, Mark Miller, Gilles Potvin, Robin Elliott, Kenneth WintersSince its initial publication in 1981, Encyclopedia of Music in Canada has been recognized as a monumental record of the music of a country, an indispensable guide to all kinds of music: popular, folk, religious, concert, and other forms. The second edition advances this landmark work into the last decade of the twentieth century. It provides more than 3700 articles in all, with more than 500 pictures of people, places, scores, concert programs, and sheet music. Compiled by scores of experts, the Encyclopedia presents our musical heritage in all its aspects: historical, educational, critical, administrative, and commercial. Essays on modern composers and performers are accompanied by critical evaluations and complete discographies. The revisions in this edition reveal the vibrancy of the music scene in Canada today. A whole generation of new performers and composers emerged over the decade between the first and second editions. New technologies have had a profound impact; so have demographic changes and a heightened awareness of commercial realizties. These and other influences are reflected in 820 new entries, and in the expansion of such entries as ethnomusicology and of the discography sections throughout the Encyclopedia. Some 200 earlier entries have been eliminated, others condensed. Access throughout has been improved. The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada explores the nation's music in all its richness and variety, from school bands to rock superstar, from community music festivals to the great concert halls. It describes the development of music as it has been and is studied, performed, and composed throughout Canada.
Call Number: ML106 .C3E5 1992
Publication Date: 1992-10-20
Canadian Music and Music Education by Diane E. PetersWith an emphasis on research done at the Masters level, helps to fill gaps in Dissertation Abstracts with respect to identifying theses and dissertations related to Canadian music completed at U.S., Canadian, and foreign universities.
The Music of Canada by Timothy J. McGeeWritten by Timothy McGee, professor of music at the University of Toronto, the narrative ranges across the many genres of music that have flourished in Canada: art music, folk and popular music, church music, and jazz. Since the book is non-technical in its approach so that it may be easily understood by those not specifically trained in music, the author has thoughtfully provided separate analytical sections for the more advanced reader.Abounding in music examples and replete with illustrations which vividly reflect each era of Canadian history, the volume also includes an anthology of thirteen complete works (or movements) by prominent Canadian composers, past and present. Each chapter begins with a brief summary of the social and political background of the period under discussion, so that its music may be understood within the context of Canadian history. The double heritage--French and English--which has both enriched and troubled Canadian cultural life, is traced from its origins to the present day. A final chapter departs from this chronological format to focus on the music of the Indian and Inuit people and comment on its sociocultural significance. Finally, an appendix including the sources of all the music discussed, a bibliography, discography, and filmography rounds out this ground-breaking volume.
“With a selection of concert recordings, artist profiles, in-depth documentaries on iconic Canadian jazz artists, and a comprehensive educational component, the Canadian Jazz Archive Online provides a perspective that is both contemporary and historical in its scope and uniquely Canadian in its flavour.”
Such Melodious Racket by Mark MillerSuch Melodious Racket traces, for the first time, the Introduction, dissemination and early development of jazz in Canada. Beginning in 1914 with the first appearance in Canada of the New Orleans ensemble, the Creole Band, and concluding with Oscar Peterson's celebrated Carnegie Hall debut in 1949, this book is based on extensive archival research, as well as interviews with musicians now in seventies and eighties. A must for all jazzophiles.
Call Number: ML3509 .C2M55 1997
Publication Date: 1998-09-01
The Miller Companion to Jazz in Canada by Mark MillerThe Miller Companion to Jazz in Canada is the readable, authoritative reference to Canadian jazz, a monumental undertaking and a wonderful book, covering the history, denizens, personalities and important venues in jazz since its beginnings in Canada, in the wonderful, readable style Mark Miller is known for. Containing over 50 photographs, this book is a must-have for all jazz aficionados.
sheBOP! : a century of jazz compositions by Canadian women by Mother of PearlHockey Night in Canada Theme (4:38) / Dolores Claman -- If you only knew (2:04) / Vera Guilaroff -- Les Policemen (3:54) / La Bolduc -- I'll never smile again (5:26) / Ruth Lowe -- Train of progress/Union Man (3:34) / Hootin'Lil Marcus -- There's a bluebird on your windowsill (5:00) / Elizabeth Clarke -- Tryin' to keep her 88's straight (3:45) / Jane Vasey -- Lucky duck (2:49) / Kathryn Moses -- Blue Motel Room (3:57) / Joni Mitchell -- Look Ma, no hands (4:13) / Karen Young -- Punishment of Baghdad (6:33) / Kathy Kidd
Canuck Rock by Ryan EdwardsonThe Guess Who. Gordon Lightfoot. Joni Mitchell. Neil Young. Stompin' Tom Connors. Robert Charlebois. Anne Murray. Crowbar. Chilliwack. Carole Pope. Loverboy. Bryan Adams. The Barenaked Ladies. The Tragically Hip. C#65533;line Dion. Arcade Fire. K-oS. Feist. These musicians are national heroes to generations of Canadians. But what does it mean to be a Canadian musician? And why does nationality even matter? Canuck Rock addresses these questions by delving into the myriad relationships between the people who make music, the industries that produce and sell it, the radio stations and government legislation that determine availability, and the fans who consume it and make it their own. An invaluable resource and an absorbing read, Canuck Rock spans from the emergence of rock and roll in the 1950s through to today's international recording industry. Combining archival material, published accounts, and new interviews, Ryan Edwardson explores how music in Canada became Canadian music.
Oh What a Feeling by Martin MelhuishCanadian popular music has taken the world by storm during the past two generations with Justin Bieber, Avril Lavigne, Michael Buble, Diana Krall, Nickelback, and Drake following the trails blazed by such artist as Bryan Adams, Ceine Dion, Shania Twain and Alanis Morissette. This pedigree extends beyond Anne Murray, Gordon Lighfoot, Neil Young, Rush, The Band, and Joni Mitchell to such stars as Paul Anka, Hank Snow, Guy Lombardo, Sons of the Pioneers - back to the original King of Pop himself, Henry Burr, and so on to Alex Muir's composition of the Maple Leaf Forever, Canada's unofficial national anthem.Oh What a Feeling is a lively chronicle of the Canadian popular music scene since 1684, featuring more than 5,000 fact-filled entries, 400 archival images, and scores of recording industry artifacts, as well as:* Profiles of Canadian Music Hall of Fame Members* Complete List of JUNO Award Winners* Introductions to 10 of the hottest emerging artists
This guide contains selected research tools for finding information about music in Canada. For further assistance with research in this area, please visit the Education & Music Library information desk.
Use these subject headings to search for more resources on topics related to Canadian music: