Scores, parts and educational material that musicians can mark up and share. USASK students, staff, and faculty will need to download the NKoda app and follow instructions on logging in using NSID and password.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Collection of classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material for the study and analysis of more than 8,000 musical scores. It contains full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, as well as piano reductions. The works are printable so that users can mark up and notate them.
License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN) for its Digital Content Infrastructure Project. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, alumni patrons, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
The Contemporary Music Score Collection is published by the UCLA Music Library. The collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.
How to find scores in the library catalogue
1. Use the Advanced Search option in the Library Catalogue.
3. Select "Musical Score" from the Material Type menu.
How to find scores in the "complete works" using Grove
1. To locate individual items in a composer's collected works using Grove Music Online, first select the "Works" tab under the entry for the composer.
2. Notice the list of complete works editions available for this composer at the top of the page, and the abbreviation for each one.
3. Navigate to the entry for the piece of music you are trying to locate. [hint: use CTRL-F to search the contents of the page]
4. Look to the right-hand columns to note the location of this piece within the complete works. The entry will usually include volume and page number.
5. Locate the complete works for this composer on the shelf and find the corresponding volume and page number. All complete works are located in the M3 section of the library and organized alphabetically by composer name (i.e. Mozart complete works have the call number M3 M, Schubert works have M3 S, etc.)
Where to find scores?
Music scores can be found in different locations in the Music Library, in databases, or websites. Use this guide to find scores in music databases, Education & Music Library collections, in the complete works and collected editions, and public domain scores in websites.
Music Score Websites
Websites that offer FREE access to digitized scores online.
The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public. The Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music.
The Library and Archives Canada Canadiana sheet music collection has grown to become the most comprehensive in the country, and includes over 20 000 patriotic and parlour songs, piano pieces, sacred music and novelty numbers, some dating back to the 1700s. Besides the expected Canadian imprints, it includes music by Canadians or about Canada published anywhere in the world.
The Sibley Music Library at the University of Rochester has been engaged in a project to digitize its public-domain music scores, emphasizing scores not widely held by other libraries and not digitized elsewhere. To date the library has digitized more than 14,000 publications.
This website is a portal to information about and images of worldwide collections of medieval polyphonic music manuscripts (not including plainchant). The music and the manuscripts date from approx 800 to 1550, including complete digitization of the Eton Choirbook. In order to access images, users must create a free account.