Music: David Kaplan
Collections
Collections and holdings related to Dr. Kaplan's life and work:
- David Kaplan Composition CollectionHoldings of David Kaplan compositions in the University Library, University of Saskatchewan.
- Kaplan Musical Instrument CollectionInstruments from the Kaplan Musical Instrument Collection are on display throughout the Education Building, in the Music Department, and publicly in Education & Music Library. Dr. Kaplan was an avid collector of musical instruments and donated his personal collection of almost 400 instruments to the University of Saskatchewan in early 2013.
- David Kaplan fondsHeld in the University of Saskatchewan, University Archives & Special Collections. This fond documents the life and career of David Kaplan. It contains material related to his family, academic and teaching career and community involvement.
- Kaplan: The Well-Tempered Klezmerer byCall Number: ML422 .K218K37 2012Publication Date: 2012Autobiography of Dr. David Kaplan including anecdotal contributions from colleagues, family, and friends. Includes a selected works list (p. 323-335)
- David Kaplan ShowcaseBiography, holdings, and resources related to Dr. Kaplan's compositional works held at the Canadian Music Centre.
David Kaplan.
Dr. David Kaplan (December 12, 1923 – April 6, 2015) was a composer, administrator, conductor, clarinetist. In 1960 he was offered a position teaching music within the College of Education at the University of Saskatchewan, and became a driving force behind the creation of an independent Department of Music in 1964. He was the head of th Department of Music for nearly 20 years. Dr. Kaplan was devoted to teaching, and continued to serve as a professor emeritus and sessional lecturer long after his retirement in 1991.