Psychology: Forensic Behavioural Sciences

Forensic Behavioural Sciences: Journal Articles & Databases

The following groups of databases are the key ones to search when you are trying to locate journal articles, as well as books, book chapters, etc., in the area of forensic sciences.

Forensic Psychology / Psychiatry / Health Sciences
Sociology & Criminology
Law
Multidisciplinary

Many of these databases include full-text articles; if not, choose the Find It! icon to see if the article is available full-text via another source!

Forensic Psychology / Psychiatry / Health Sciences Sources

APA PsycInfo
This database, produced by the American Psychological Association, is the most comprehensive database in the area of Psychology. This database indexes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
License Information: This license was negotiated by the Health Knowledge Network for the Saskatchewan Information Resources Program (SHIRP). There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
MEDLINE: Ovid MEDLINE
This database, published by the US National Library of Medicine, is a major bibliographic database for clinical medicine.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law. Access Note: When creating an Ovid personal account, users will be asked to sign an End User License Agreement. Existing users will be asked to update their accounts by signing this new agreement, effective March 2021.
EMBASE: Excerpta Medica & EMBASE Classic
A "major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation."
License Information: This license was negotiated by the Health Knowledge Network. Access is restricted to four (4) simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. A comprehensive database covering nursing & allied health topics
License Information: This license was negotiated by the Health Knowledge Network for the Saskatchewan Information Resources Program (SHIRP). There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Sociology & Criminology Sources

Sociological Abstracts
this database covers "the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers."
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for their occasional use, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
SocINDEX with Full Text
A comprehensive scholarly sociology studies database.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Social Services Abstracts
Covers current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
This database contains abstracts of current books, book chapters, journal articles, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide covering criminal justice and and criminology. Coverage includes: Criminal Justice, Criminal Law and Procedure , Corrections and Prisons, Police and Policing, Criminal Investigation, Forensic Sciences and Investigation, History of Crime, Substance Abuse and Addiction , Probation and Parole, and Criminology.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for their occasional use, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)

Law Sources

HeinOnline
A collection of digitized U.S. historical and current law and law-related material.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
LegalTrac
Indexes titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals and full text law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.
License Information: This is a Saskatchewan Multitype Database Licensing Project (MDLP) license. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.

Other Places to Search

There are many more databases licensed through the University Library. You can review them all via our Database page or grouped by Subject.

Multidisciplinary Sources

Academic Search Complete (ASC)
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Broad range of Canadian sources covering current events, culture, business, education, history, language, and government are included. Content comes from scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers, news services and magazines.
License Information: This is a Saskatchewan Multitype Database Licensing Project (MDLP) license. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to walk-in users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
PAIS Index
Covers covering public affairs, public and social policies, international relations
License Information: There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.
Web of Science Core Collection
Social Sciences Citation Index is part of the larger Web of Science database. To only search the SSCI, de-select the other databases listed.
License Information: This license was negotiated by the Canadian Research Knowledge Network. There are no restrictions to the number of simultaneous users. Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and to "walk-in" users of the University of Saskatchewan Library for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. It is accessible in the library, on campus, and remotely. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content, including the downloading of a full issue, is not permitted by Canadian and International Copyright law.