Geology: Find Journal Articles

Search for Articles in Databases

The University Library subscribes to many article indexing databases in all disciplines. The following are those which are most useful in finding articles on geoscience topics. For a complete list of all databases provided by the library, visit the A-Z List of electronic resources.

(Note: Databases index thousands of journals, the library does not subscribe to every title that the database indexes - click on the FindIt button beside each article to check if we have access).

Best Databases for Geology:

GeoRef & GeoRef in Process
An abstract and indexing database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) offering comprehensive access to the geoscience literature of the world, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The geology of North America is covered back to 1669, and coverage for the rest of the world back to 1933.

GeoRef in Process is a supplement to GeoRef and contains unedited records that are still in the process of being indexed before being added to GeoRef.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

**NOTE: You can also search GeoRef on the GeoScienceWorld (GSW) platform. See link for this resource below.

Best Multidisciplinary Databases for Sciences:

Scopus
A very large abstract and index database of research literature and quality web sources covering the science, technology, and medicine (STM), and social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Web of Science Core Collection
Collection of citation databases, providing abstracts and indexing and cited reference searching to over 10,000 high impact scholarly research journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings, and covering topics in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Other Relevant Databases:

Compendex and Engineering Index Backfile
A "comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research... containing references and abstracts to over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented." Also includes the Engineering Index online backfile from 1884-1969. See also EI Engineering Villiage.
Please Note: Arrangements for permission to text and data mine this resource can be made with the publisher. Contact the library at USask EResources in advance to arrange these permissions.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Selected Journal Collections

Collections Relevant to Geology:

Lyell Collection
Full text collection of The Geological Society of London, including its journals and key book series covering all aspects of earth science.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
GSW: GeoScienceWorld
A full text collection of the journals of leading geoscience organizations. Includes links to GeoRef abstracts. Access Note: GSW includes both direct full text links and indirect full text via CrossRef; when a citation cites only an "abstract" try the "Journal home" link to link to full text the Library subscribes to via the CrossRef initiative.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
AAPG Archives: American Association of Petroleum Geologists
The AAPG/Datapages Combined Publications Database ("Archives") provides access to papers from geological publishers.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
OnePetro
A multi-society library "that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry." Currently the literature of 11 societies are included.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Multidisciplinary Collections:

ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a portal to scholarly journals, book series, and ebooks published by Elsevier and affiliated publishers primarily covering science, technology, and medicine and the social sciences.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Annual Reviews & Backfile
A collection of review series in focused disciplines within Biomedical and Physical Sciences, and Economics.
Access Note: To receive Table of Contents automatically, you must first self-register and setup a username and password in a personal profile.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Do we subscribe to the journal you need?

To search by journal title:

change the first drop-down box to "Title"
change the second drop-down box to "All Journal Titles"
enter the full journal title in the search box
Hit the green search button.

**This search will bring up all print and electronic journal titles. If we don't subscribe to the title you need, you can request a copy of the article needed through Interlibrary Loan (it's free!).

Journal Abbreviations

Science and Engineering Journal Abbreviations
Search or browse the alphabetical list of journal title abbreviations for the sciences. Very useful tool provided by UBC Library!

Off-Campus Proxy Bookmarklet

To connect to any website through the USask proxy, install the USask proxy bookmarklet in your browser for quick access.

For most browsers, click, drag and drop the blue button below to your bookmarks bar.

USask Proxy Bookmarklet

Bookmarks/Favourites bar instructions for:

That's it! Now, when you hit a paywall while researching online simply click on the USask Proxy link in your bookmarks bar and the page will automatically reload to give you access to the full-text version if the library subscribes to it. You will be prompted to login with your NSID and password if you are not already logged in.

Below is a video tutorial of setting up the Proxy Bookmarklet:

Journal Info

Journal Citation Reports
Comprehensive resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals and more than 3,300 publishers in 80 countries. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Ulrichsweb.com: Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
An authoritative knowledgebase of information about more than 300,000 serials of all types from around the world from academic and scholarly journals, peer-reviewed titles, open access journals, online publications, newspapers and other resources. Bibliographic records provide details including ISSN and title, publisher, online availability, language, subject area, abstracting & indexing coverage, searchable tables of contents, and full-text reviews.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Open Acess Journals in the Geosciences

This is a list of open access journals maintained by members of the Geoscience Information Society. Includes author fees if applicable.

Open Access Journals in the Geosciences