Geology: Find Books
Search the Library Catalogue
Prefer to Browse the Shelves?
Geology books are in the QE call number range and are located on the Lower Level in the Science Library.
Subclass QE (Geology)
QE1-350.62 General (Including geographical divisions)
QE351-399.2 Mineralogy
QE420-499 Petrology
QE500-639.5 Dynamic and structural geology
QE521-545 Volcanoes and earthquakes
QE601-613.5 Structural geology
QE640-699 Stratigraphy
QE701-760 Paleontology
QE760.8-899.2 Paleozoology
QE901-996.5 Paleobotany
*Also see call number ranges:
GB (Physical geography)
TA 630 - 820 (Structural engineering, Geotechnical engineering)
TN (Mining engineering, Metallurgy)
E-Books Collections
Relevant e-book collections for geology:
- Lyell CollectionFull text collection of The Geological Society of London, including its journals and key book series covering all aspects of earth science.
- AAPG Archives: American Association of Petroleum GeologistsThe AAPG/Datapages Combined Publications Database ("Archives") provides access to papers from geological publishers.
- Springer Nature Link: Books
Access Springer's very large and growing collection of electronic books, reference works, and book series, covering primarily science, technology, and medicine and related topics, but also the arts and humanities, and social sciences.
Access Note: to access titles the University of Saskatchewan Library has purchased access to, uncheck the box beside "Include Preview-Only content" at the top of the left menu column.
Access Note: Faculty and students may purchase a print-on-demand quality copy of most Springer ebooks the Library has purchased, for a small fee (US$24.95). SEE MyCopy information on the results page. Image rich and long ebooks may not be available for purchase.
Find Books on Reserve
- Reserve Collection - Information & Policy
This link opens in a new window
The Reserve Collection exists to ensure access to high demand materials for student use. The heavy use of items in this collection is accommodated through very short loan periods and, sometimes, the requirement that materials be used in the library. For more information about the Reserve Collection follow this link.
Suggest Titles for the Collections
I am always happy to receive suggestions on what you would like to see in our library collections.
Background Information
Encyclopedia of Geology by
Encyclopedia of Geology, Second Edition presents in six volumes state-of-the-art reviews on the various aspects of geologic research, all of which have moved on considerably since the writing of the first edition. New areas of discussion include extinctions, origins of life, plate tectonics and its influence on faunal provinces, new types of mineral and hydrocarbon deposits, new methods of dating rocks, and geological processes. Users will find this to be a fundamental resource for teachers and students of geology, as well as researchers and non-geology professionals seeking up-to-date reviews of geologic research. Provides a comprehensive and accessible one-stop shop for information on the subject of geology, explaining methodologies and technical jargon used in the field Highlights connections between geology and other physical and biological sciences, tackling research problems that span multiple fields Fills a critical gap of information in a field that has seen significant progress in past years Presents an ideal reference for a wide range of scientists in earth and environmental areas of study
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780081029091Publication Date: 2020
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by
This new edition includes 10,000 entries which cover all areas of geoscience, including planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy and volcanology. In this edition, 675 new entries have been added, and include expanded coverage of planetary geology andearth-observing-satellites. Other new entries terms such as Ianammox, Boomerangian, earth rheological layering, and metamorphic rock classification.The entries are also complemented by more than 130 diagrams and numerous web links that are listed on a regularly updated dedicated companion website. Appendices supplement the A-Z and have been extended to include three new tables on the Torino Impact Hazard Scale, Avalanche Classes, and theVolcanic Explosivity Index. The list of satellite missions has also been revised and updated to include recent developments.A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences is an authoritative, and jargon-free resource for students of geology, geography, geosciences, physical science, and those in related disciplines.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780198839033Publication Date: 2020
Glossary of Geology by Call Number: QE5 .G37 2005 [Science Library Reference]ISBN: 0922152764Publication Date: 2005
Communicating rocks : writing, speaking, and thinking about geology by Call Number: QE48.85 .C67 2012 [Science Library]ISBN: 9780321689672
Geowriting : a guide to writing, editing, and printing in earth science by Call Number: QE48.85 .G46 1995 [Science Library]
