Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to main content

USask Library and Archival Resources: Sexual and Gender Diversity

A guide to the resources available in the University Archives and Special Collections on Gender and Sexual Diversity.

Neil Richards Collection of Gender and Sexual Diversity

This is a library collection of published materials including books (both fiction and non-fiction), periodicals, and videos that cover many aspects of the history and literature of sexual and gender diversity. It has items that are mainstream and relatively new as well as unique, rare and/or fragile items.

As of August 2019 over 8500 items have been added to the collection.

All titles in the collection are given the searchable series title in the library catalogue – Neil Richards Collection of Sexual and Gender Diversity. You can search the items within that collection by hitting the "Limit/Sort Search" button and adding keywords or restricting by material type.

Three subseries titles have also been established to identify current collection strengths:

Established in January 2010 this Library special collection is named in honor of Neil Richards who dedicated his life to the collection and preservation of LGBT history. During his years of library employment and continuing in his retirement, Richards developed and help acquire many impressive collections of LGBT  interest for libraries and archives at the University of Saskatchewan.

The goal is to develop a collection with sufficient focus and depth to inspire and facilitate research by students and faculty. The collection aims to be distinctive to the University of Saskatchewan, and not to duplicate holdings found at other libraries or archives.  Material connected to queer life in Saskatchewan is especially prized. The collection preserves many items representing the popular culture of LGBTQ communities including lifestyle and physique magazines, comic and cartoon books, posters, film memorabilia, postcards and buttons, and sound recordings.

The collection has grown very rapidly through the generosity of many local, but also national and international donors.  Future development depends significantly on in-kind gifts and also financial support from the community.  If you own or know of material of interest, either printed or in manuscript form, that needs a safe and permanent home or if you wish to support our collecting activities please contact University Archives & Special Collections at: ua.sc@usask.ca 

Sexuality and German Facism edited by Dagmar Herzog Rediscovering Gay History by John Boswell 1986 Places in Europe Gay Travel Guide
A Queer and Pleasant Danger: A memoir by Kate Bornstein Spartacus 84: Guide for Gay Men Straight Girls Guide to Sleeping With Chicks by Jen Sincero