Language revitalization - Indigenous languages in Saskatchewan: Cree

Cree Dialects in Saskatchewan

Saskatchewan dialects: nêhiyawêwin (Plains Cree / "Y"), nîhithawîwin (Woodland Cree / "N"), and nêhinawêwin (Swampy Cree / "TH").

Online Cree Dictionary
A searchable dictionary for both Plains and Woodland Cree.
nēhiyawēwin / Plains Cree Dictionary
A searchable bilingual Plains Cree-English Dictionary resource.
itwêwina Plains Cree Dictionary
Type any Cree word to find its English translation.

nēhiyawēwin: itwēwina / Cree: Words by Arok Wolvengrey
This two-volume dictionary documents the Cree language. The goal has thus been to collect the vocabulary of Cree as it is spoken by fluent speakers in much of western Canada, whether elders or young people.
Alberta Elders' Cree Dictionary / alperta ohci kehtehayak nehiyaw otwestamâkewasinahikan by Nancy LeClaire; George Cardinal; Earle H. Waugh (Editor)
This dictionary is based upon both Northern Cree (the "TH" dialect) and Plains Cree (the "Y" dialect).
Dr. Anne Anderson's Metis Cree dictionary by Dr. Anne Anderson
This dictionary of 38,000 words was compiled and translated by Dr. Anne Anderson, author of 93 books on the Cree language and Métis culture.

Cree Language Structures: a Cree Approach by Freda Ahenakew
For the first time, many of the structural complexities of the language are being presented in a non-technical way -- and by an author who is herself a Cree speaker.
Studies in Plains Cree grammar and style by Christoph H. Wolfart
A source-book of preliminary studies towards a future reference book of Cree grammar.
Meet Cree by H. C. Wolfart; Janet F. Carroll
Meet Cree introduces the reader to the Cree language, mainly by showing how its structure differs from that of English.

Plains Cree Syllabics
Plains Cree syllabics chart with audio pronunciation files.
Woodland Cree Syllabics
Woodland Cree syllabics chart.
Swampy Cree Syllabics
Eastern Swampy Cree syllabics chart with audio pronunciation files.
Cree SRO <-> Syllabics Converter
This is a standard Roman orthography (SRO) to syllabics converter for Western Cree (Western Swampy Cree (N-dialect), Woods Cree (Th-dialect), and Plains Cree (Y-dialect)).
Cree Syllabics Converter
Convert Standard Roman Orthography to East Cree, Swampy Cree (Fort Severn), Moose Cree, or Plains Cree syllabics.

Cree, language of the Plains = nēhiyawēwin, paskwāwi-pīkiskwēwin by Jean Okimasis
Cree: Language of the Plains is a comprehensive educational resource, offering a broad range of learning materials that is easily accessible to Cree language learners. This collection includes an updated and redesigned Cree language textbook, Cree language audio labs, and a Cree language workbook.
mâci-nêhiyawêwin / Beginning Cree by Solomon Ratt; Holly Martin (Illustrator)
Designed as an introduction for Cree language learners, mâci-nêhiyawêwin / Beginning Cree acts as a self-study aid--a much-needed resource in today's world where most students cannot speak Cree fluently.
âhkami-nêhiyawêtân = Let's keep speaking Cree by Solomon Ratt
An important language resource that helps intermediate nêhiyawêtan learners begin to understand more advanced grammar of the language.

nēhiyawētān kīkināhk = Speaking Cree in the home : a beginner's guide for families by Belinda Daniels author. Andrea Custer (Andrea Sherry), author.; Lana Whiskeyjack illustrator.; Solomon Ratt writer of foreword
A hands-on guide for parents and caregivers to develop best practices in revitalizing and teaching Cree to young children.
Cree Pedagogy: Dance Your Style by Angelina Weenie; Willie J. Ermine; Kevin Lewis; Ida Swan; Mary Sasakamoose; Jeffery Cappo; Deanna Pelletier
Organized into three parts, this title focuses on the First Nations pedagogy on its own terms: a pedagogy rooted in land, language, culture, community, and Elder knowledge.
e-kiweyitotamahk kitayisinewinanaw : reclaiming our Cree language through oral tradition by Diane Peekeekoot
Discusses project which brought Elders into the classroom to teach 30-level Cree class through traditional stories. Took place at the Ahtahkakoop Cree Nation High School.
Teaching sacred language curriculum by Saskatchewan Indigenous Cultural Centre
This curriculum gives our Traditional and Indigenous knowledges a place at the front lines in the journey of reviving and preserving our languages. It is developed from a First Nation perspective with the guidance of Elders, master teachers and language champions.

Cree Literacy Network
The Cree Literacy Network shares the work of lifelong language warriors who retain, reclaim, revitalize and restore the language that is a birthright for themselves and their communities.
Kepin's Cree Language Blog
Dr. Kevin Brousseau write essays about the language and its grammar, lexicon, dialects, and various orthographies. He also translates non-Cree texts into various dialects of Cree and Cree stories into English.

Kawacatoose Cree Language App (iOS)
Learn Cree the easy way with the Kawacatoose Cree Language App. Listen to how the language was originally spoken over thousands of years.
Kawacatoose Cree Language App (Android)
Android version of the Kawacatoose Cree Language app.
Plains Cree Yorkton Tribal Council (iOS)
Learn from a variety of categories including, Greetings, Weather, Animals, Anatomy, Family and many other categories.
MLCN Cree Language (Android)
This app allows you to learn the TH dialect of Cree as spoken in the community of Montreal Lake Cree Nation.

I-Portal - Indigenous Studies Portal
Online full text resources for Indigenous studies in all the disciplines, including articles, books, book reviews, websites, archival materials, and theses and dissertations.