Language revitalization - Indigenous languages in Saskatchewan: Dene Sųłiné
Dene Sųłiné Language in Saskatchewan
There are two Dene Sųłiné dialects spoken in Saskatchewan: the "t" dialect and the "k" dialect.
Dene Sųłiné Language Documentation
- Dene Sųłiné at FirstVoicesMaintained by Cold Lake First Nations, this dictionary features 327 words and 554 phrases. It also has a Dene alphabet chart with audio pronunciation files.
- Dëné So̧łiné Yatié ʔerehtł’ís Łuskëlk’e T’iné Yatié Chipewyan DictionaryOver 10,000 entries of words, phrases, and sentences representing the ancestral language of the residents of Lutsel K’e, Dené Sųłıné.
- Dëne Dédliné Yatié ʔerehtł’íscho Denínu Kuȩ́ Yatié Chipewyan DictionaryThis dictionary provides a blend of both Dÿne Dédliné - old Chipewyan words - and variations more commonly used by today’s speakers.
Begharé sekwi denesųłiné yatié ?á honelten by A picture dictionary of select Dene nouns; text chiefly in Dene. Includes an English index.
- A Grammar of Dene Suline (Chipewyan) by Reference grammar.
Benasní - I Remember: Dëne Sųłıné Oral Histories with Morphological Analysis by Presents twelve autobiographical narratives about cultural change from Dëne Sųłıné elders in an Indigenous community in northern Saskatchewan, Canada. Accompanying the original Dene texts and free translation is an analytical interlinear gloss applying rigorous morphological and semantic principles to the parsing and glossing of words.
- Dene Speech AtlasThe DSA describes the sounds of the languages of the First Nations Dene in communities of the Mackenzie River Basin and in surrounding areas.
Dene Sųłiné Language Teaching and Learning
- Déné language by The Dene language is the third hardest language in the world to speak and understand. It has 39 consonants and 116 vowels sounds.
- Denesųłiné by This book is a beginner course to encourage fluency through the use of common phrases and short prayer.
- Dene benódheré beghą eritł'is = Dene beginner verbs book by Pictures various actions with the appropriate Dene verb to describe the action, using Total Physical Response (TPR) Methodology.
- Tháıdene Yatı Hóneneltën (Ancestral Dene Language Pedagogies) — Dene Dedlıne Yatı Acquisition, Revitalization and Reclamation by Kyle NapierThis work prioritizes the voices of speakers of Dene Dedlıne Yatı to support Dene Dedlıne Yatı acquisition, revitalization and reclamation which is specific to Dene learning Dene Dedlıne Yatı in Tu Nedhé.
- Teaching sacred language curriculum by This curriculum gives our Traditional and Indigenous knowledges a place at the front lines in the journey of reviving and preserving our languages. It is developed from a First Nation perspective with the guidance of Elders, master teachers and language champions.
- Dene Language VideosFrom Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre.
- ACFN K’ai Taile DeneThey publish videos, a Denesųłiné Reader, and a range of word-based resources for learning the language.
- Denesųłįné (iOS)This Denesuline Language App was created using the Luechogh Tue (Cold Lake) way of speaking.
- BRDN Dene Language App (iOS)Learn Dene pronunciation with the Buffalo River First Nation Language App.
Searching the Library
iPortal
- I-Portal - Indigenous Studies Portal
Online full text resources for Indigenous studies in all the disciplines, including articles, books, book reviews, websites, archival materials, and theses and dissertations.
