Language revitalization - Indigenous languages in Saskatchewan: Michif

Michif Language Dialects

There are three Michif dialects: Northern Michif, Southern (Heritage) Michif, and Michif French. All are spoken in Saskatchewan.

Michif Dictionary
A searchable bilingual Michif-English Dictionary resource.
Michif Talking Dictionary
Includes fluent speakers’ audio recordings of all Michif entries.
Northern Michif Dictionary
Over 18,000 translations and audio pronunciations by Northern Michif-language expert Vince Ahenakew.

The Michif dictionary : Turtle Mountain Chippewa Cree by Patline Laverdure, Ida Rose Allard ; edited by John C. Crawford
Print version of the Talking Michif dictionary.
Michif dictionary 2013 by Norman Fleury author Gabriel Dumont Institute of Native Studies and Applied Research
This dictionary was created to bank individual words and is useful for looking up specific Michif-Cree words. The phrases section has been created to demonstrate how the language is used and how its syntax is structured.
Nêhiyawêwin Masinahik̦an = Michif/Cree dictionary by Vince Ahenakew; Gabriel Dumont Institute
Nêhiyawêwin Masinahiķan: Michif/Cree Dictionary is a comprehensive resource, featuring thousands of words in the “Northern” or “Ile-à-la Crosse” Michif language.

A Language of Our Own : the Genesis of Michif, the Mixed Cree-French Language of the Canadian Metis by Peter Bakker
The Michif language is considered an "impossible language" since it uses French for nouns and Cree for verbs, and comprises two different sets of grammatical rules. Bakker uses historical research and fieldwork data to present the first detailed analysis of this language and how it came into being.

La Lawng: Michif Peekishkwewin Vol. 1 by Lawrence Lawrence; Rita Flamand; Norman Fleury
This is an easy-to-follow guide to Michif that walks you through the basics of the language.
Nêhiyawêwin Mitâtaht: Michi ahcii Cree by Vince Ahenakew
An introduction to the grammar of the “Northern” or “Ile-à-la Crosse” Michif language. This resource features over 100 pages of worksheets.

Family Language Planning
The Louis Riel Institute's family language plan can help set realistic goals to return the language into homes in a way that best suits the family.

Pawaatamihk: Journal of Métis Thinkers
We are inspired by the ways that Métis thinkers are building knowledge in many different spaces—within and outside of academia—and dream that this journal will become a nourishing home for Métis thought.
Teaching sacred language curriculum by Saskatchewan Indigenous Cultural Centre
This curriculum gives our Traditional and Indigenous knowledges a place at the front lines in the journey of reviving and preserving our languages. It is developed from a First Nation perspective with the guidance of Elders, master teachers and language champions.

Online Southern Michif Course
This free three-part online course is an interactive introduction to Southern Michif.
Speaking Michif French
Michif French lessons courtesy of the Manitoba Métis Federation.
Heritage Michif Lessons
Online Heritage Michif lessons through Gabriel Dumont Institute.
Introduction to Michif Course
In this self-led six-module open virtual course, learners can practice hearing, speaking, and reading either one, or both, of two dialects of Michif: Northern Michif or Heritage Michif.

Gabriel Dumont Institute
GDI has published or produced more than 80 Métis-specific books and educational resources since the early 1980s. They also maintain a Métis-specific library system and a Virtual Museum where rare and out-of-print materials can be accessed online.
Louis Riel Institute
Louis Riel Institute promotes a greater understanding and appreciation of Métis languages, language reclamation and revitalization, as well as implementing best practices in endangered language education.
Prairies to Woodlands Indigenous Language Revitalization Circle
Prairies to Woodlands Indigenous Language Revitalization Circle is a non-profit grassroots community organization focused on the revitalization of Southern Michif and other Indigenous languages spoken by the Métis and their kin.
Rupertsland Institute
Rupertsland Centre for Teaching and Learning is dedicated to revitalizing the Michif language in Alberta through courses, educational resources, videos, and more, designed to support lifelong learners of all backgrounds.

Michif Lessons (iOS)
Michif Lessons contains over 60 exercises to learn over 1000 Michif words.
Michif Lessons (Android)
Android version.
Michif To Go (Android)
The first English-to-Michif Dictionary available for Android. Features over 11,500 translations and audio pronunciations by Michif-language expert Norman Fleury.
Michif to Go (iOS)
iOS version of the Heritage Michif mobile dictionary.
Northern Michif to Go (Android)
This dictionary app features over 18,000 translations and audio pronunciations by Northern Michif-language expert Vince Ahenakew.
Northern Michif to Go (iOS)
iOs version of the mobile Northern Michif dictionary.

Michif Language Resources: an Annotated Bibliography
You can find many of these listed resources through the USask library or iPortal.

I-Portal - Indigenous Studies Portal
Online full text resources for Indigenous studies in all the disciplines, including articles, books, book reviews, websites, archival materials, and theses and dissertations.