Language revitalization - Indigenous languages in Saskatchewan: Language Revitalization
Find Online Projects and Resources
- FirstVoicesFirstVoices is an internationally recognized online platform for Indigenous communities to share and promote their languages, oral cultures and linguistic histories. It hosts a large collection of language learning apps and Indigenous language keyboards.
- Algonquian Linguistic AtlasA co-created on-line, multimedia linguistic atlas of Algonquian languages. Also home to the Algonquian Dictionaries and Language Resources project.
- Decolonial AtlasThe Decolonial Atlas is a growing collection of maps which help us to challenge our relationships with the land, people, and state. Because decolonization is a process of unlearning and rediscovering, the Atlas is committed to Indigenous language revitalization through toponymy – the use of place names.
- First People's Cultural CouncilThe FPCC Resource Library has several guides, toolkits and handbooks that support language revitalization and reclamation efforts.
- Supporting Indigenous Language Revitalization (SILR)Open access toolkits for language documentation and revitalization.
- wîcêhtowinA database of Indigenous language teaching and learning resources. Search by language, language family, proficiency.
- Office of the Commissioner of Indigenous LanguagesThe Commission maintains a resource library which lists several types of language learning programs and sources for funding.
- Teaching Resource CentreThe educational resources you find here are for Indigenous and non-Indigenous educators teaching students and learners of all ages.
- pîkiskwêwinAn Indigenous language platform amplifying Indigenous languages from across Canada to help preserve and pass them on to the next generation. Listen to podcasts in Cree, Dakota, Dene, Mohawk, Nakota, Michif, Saulteaux, and more.
- Voices from the Land: Indigenous Peoples Talk Language RevitalizationA podcast series on Indigenous language revitalization efforts across Canada.
Find Library Resources
- Language Documentation & ConservationLanguage Documentation & Conservation (LD&C) is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal focusing on topics related to language documentation and conservation.
- Indigenous Language Rights & RealitiesIndigenous Language Rights & Realities (ILR&R) is a peer-reviewed, open-access publication focusing on topics related to Indigenous and non-dominant language rights and realities.
- DictionariaDictionaria is an open-access journal that publishes high-quality dictionaries of languages from around the world, especially languages that do not have a large number of speakers. The dictionaries are published not in the traditional linear form, but as electronic databases that can be easily searched, linked and exported.
A World of Indigenous Languages by This book examines the multifaceted efforts of Indigenous peoples to reclaim and sustain their languages. Exploring political, historical and pedagogical issues, the authors foreground Indigenous knowledges and perspectives, highlighting the decolonizing aims of contemporary Indigenous language movements both inside and outside schools.
The Green Book of Language Revitalization in Practice by Six thousand languages are spoken in today’s world, but while a few are spreading rapidly, thousands of others are disappearing. In response to this crisis, communities around the world have begun to develop ways to keep their languages alive. This book, written by a host of gifted practitioners, is both a collection of detailed accounts of their work and a manual of effective revitalization techniques for people attempting to keep their voices alive.
Indigenous Language Revitalization in the Americas by Focusing on the Americas - home to 40 to 50 million Indigenous people - this book explores the history and current state of Indigenous language revitalization across this vast region.
The Routledge Handbook of Language Revitalization by Examines issues in language revitalization, including: language rights, language and well-being, and language policy; language in educational institutions and in the home; new methodologies and venues for language learning; and the roles of documentation, literacies, and the internet.
The Language Warrior's Manifesto by Anton Treuer has been at the forefront of the battle to revitalize Ojibwe for many years. In this impassioned argument, he discusses the interrelationship between language and culture, the problems of language loss, strategies and tactics for resisting, and the inspiring stories of successful language warriors.
Otter's Journey Through Indigenous Language and Law by In Otter's Journey, Borrows makes use of the Anishinaabe tradition of storytelling to explore how the work in Indigenous language revitalization can inform the emerging field of Indigenous legal revitalization.
Making Dictionaries by Many indigenous American languages face imminent extinction, and the dictionary, often the only written documentation of these languages, stands as a powerful tool in preserving them. These essays, written by leading scholars, provide a comprehensive picture of the theory and practice of indigenous language lexicography.
Searching the Library
iPortal
- I-Portal - Indigenous Studies Portal
Online full text resources for Indigenous studies in all the disciplines, including articles, books, book reviews, websites, archival materials, and theses and dissertations.
