Language revitalization - Indigenous languages in Saskatchewan: Lakota
Lakota Language Documentation
- New Lakota DictionaryThe New Lakota Dictionary (NLD) Mobile App for iOS and Android allows you to search for words in English or Lakota and listen to their pronunciation.
- Lakota Pronunciation GlossarySearchable glossary of Lakota pronunciations.
Lakota Dictionary by This dictionary contains over 30,000 entries and is for everyone interested in preserving, speaking, and writing the Lakota language today.
English-Lakota Dictionary by This dictionary has over 12,000 entries and an introduction to the sounds of the Lakota language.
Teton Dakota phonology by A partial phonological component of a transformational-generative grammar of Teton Dakota is discussed, with primary emphasis on the phonology of the verb. Although the analysis is neither exhaustive nor definitive, it serves to outline the central and most characteristic phonological processes of the language.
Lakota Language Teaching and Learning
Reading and Writing the Lakota Language by Combines language instruction with cultural insights, historical details, & humorous stories.
550 Dakota Verbs by The Dakota language owes much of its expansiveness to its verbs, or action words. 550 Dakota Verbs provides students of Dakota--and the Lakota and Nakota dialects--the proper conjugations for 550 verbs from adi (to step or walk on) to zo (to whistle).
- On Language Instruction by Stephanie Charging EagleVideo playlist about teaching the Lakota language.
- Teaching sacred language curriculum by This curriculum gives our Traditional and Indigenous knowledges a place at the front lines in the journey of reviving and preserving our languages. It is developed from a First Nation perspective with the guidance of Elders, master teachers and language champions.
- Lakota Language Consortium YouTubeThe LLC channel publishes playlists of Lakota children’s books and songs, Lakota stories, and Lakota podcasts.
- Lakota Language ConsortiumLakota Language Consortium (LLC) is a nonprofit organization made up of community leaders, linguists, educators, and volunteers. Their mission is to support the revitalization and preservation of Lakȟótiyapi by working to increase the total number of new speakers.
- Lakota Language GuideOn this page, you will find helpful resources about the Lakota language and more information on the exhibit The Endurance of Cultural Identity, which provides a hands-on experience for learning the basics of the endangered Lakota language.
- Lakota Language Consortium Mobile AppsLinks to the New Lakota Dictionary, Owóksape Mobile App, Lakota Keyboard Mobile, Lakota Media Player, and Lakota Vocab Builder. iOS and Android versions available for all apps.
Searching the Library
iPortal
- I-Portal - Indigenous Studies Portal
Online full text resources for Indigenous studies in all the disciplines, including articles, books, book reviews, websites, archival materials, and theses and dissertations.
