Language revitalization - Indigenous languages in Saskatchewan: Saulteaux

Saulteaux Language in Saskatchewan

Saulteaux is the dialect of Ojibwa spoken in Saskatchewan. Resources without Saulteaux in the title or description are not dialect-specific.

The Ojibwe People's Dictionary
The Ojibwe People's Dictionary is a searchable, talking Ojibwe-English dictionary that features the voices of Ojibwe speakers. Along with detailed Ojibwe language entries and voices, you will find beautiful cultural items, photographs, and excerpts from relevant historical documents.

A Concise Dictionary of Minnesota Ojibwe by John D. Nichols; Earl Nyholm
A Concise Dictionary of Minnesota Ojibwe contains more than 7,000 of the most frequently used Ojibwe words. Presented in Ojibwe-English and English-Ojibwe sections, this dictionary spells words to reflect their actual pronunciation with a direct match between the letters used and the speech sounds of Ojibwe.
Saulteaux phrase book = masinahikanēns by Saskatchewan Indigenous Cultural Centre
SICC is pleased to provide this phrase book as part of our language immersion courses.
inawēndiwin = Kinship by Agnes Pee-Ace
Kinship is an integral part of Saulteaux culture. It encourages strong family ties with both immediate and extended family. Through kinship, children learn identity which allow them to be proud of their Saulteaux culture.

Ojibwe Discourse Markers by Brendan Fairbanks
Ojibwe Discourse Markers is a remarkable study that interprets and describes the Ojibwe language in its broader theoretical concerns in the field of linguistics. With a scholarly and pedagogical introductory chapter and a glossary of technical terms, this book will be useful to instructors and students of Ojibwe as a second language in language revival and maintenance programs.

Saulteaux Syllabics
Saulteaux syllabics chart.
Saulteaux Syllabics Converter
Bi-directional Saulteaux syllabics to Standard Roman Orthography (SRO) converter.
Saulteaux Syllabics App
Convert to/from Standard Roman Orthography (SRO) and Saulteaux (Western Ojibwe/Anihšināpēmowin) syllabics.

mācī-anihšināpēmowin = Beginning Saulteaux by Margaret Cote; Lynn Cote
In an easy-to-use and easy-to-read series of lessons, both designed for self-study or for use in the classroom, Beginning Saulteaux will guide beginners through the language's grammatical structures and spelling systems, as well as everyday terms and phrases. The book grounds the language in both traditional and contemporary contexts, and sheds light on the Saulteaux world view.
nahkawētā : a Saulteaux language course by Cote, Margaret R; Voorhis, Paul H
Language course based on the SICC Saulteaux Phrase Book.
tōtamowinan : Saulteaux beginner verbs book by Saskatchewan Indigenous Cultural Centre
Verbs are taught using the Total Physical Response (TPR) method. This approach facilitates language comprehension and long term memory retention.

Teaching sacred language curriculum by Saskatchewan Indigenous Cultural Centre
This curriculum gives our Traditional and Indigenous knowledges a place at the front lines in the journey of reviving and preserving our languages. It is developed from a First Nation perspective with the guidance of Elders, master teachers and language champions.

Beginner Saulteaux Lessons
Saulteaux language keeper Natalie Langan records her beginner Saulteaux lessons for learners to access any time they want to hear and practice their language. Includes words and phrases for daily interactions.
Anishinaabemowin with Denise Kennedy
Via File Hills Qu'Appelle Tribal Council.
Saulteaux Classes with Lynn Cote
Via File Hills Qu'Appelle Tribal Council.

Saulteaux (iOS)
This app offers learning, practice, games and quizzes in many everyday categories such as greetings, phrases, vowels, expressions and much more! Learn your language so that it will be kept alive for generations to come.
Saulteaux (Android)
Android version of the Saulteaux app published by File Hills Qu’Appelle Tribal Council.
Saulteaux Language App (iOS)
Saulteaux Language App teaches you how to speak the Saulteaux Language. Learn to speak from the spoken word. More than 500 words and phrases, combine words from various categories to make sentences.

I-Portal - Indigenous Studies Portal
Online full text resources for Indigenous studies in all the disciplines, including articles, books, book reviews, websites, archival materials, and theses and dissertations.