Language revitalization - Indigenous languages in Saskatchewan: Dakota

Dakota Language Documentation

Dakota Online Dictionary
A searchable online dictionary created by the Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate Dakotah Language Institute.

An English Dakota Dictionary by John P. Williamson
The language of the Dakota people was first put into written form by missionaries who lived within and learned from the Dakota community in the Minnesota River valley. A foreword by Carolynn I. Schommer, a Dakota Indian and former instructor in the American Indian Studies/Dakota Language Department at the University of Minnesota, describes the historical and cultural context in which this dictionary was created.
Īteowāpi taninyan owāpi by Saskatchewan Indigenous Cultural Centre ; Dakota translation & editing, Darlene Speidel, Velma Good Feather ; illustrations, Philip Ballantyne, Elaine Hay
Illustrated dictionary with Dakota and English indexes

Dakota Grammar by Franz Boas; Ella Deloria
This book is a comprehensive study of the grammar of the Dakota language, a Native American language spoken by the Dakota people in the United States and Canada.
Theoretical Issues in Dakota Phonology and Morphology by Patricia A. Shaw; Jorge Hankamer (Editor)
Provides an analysis of a variety of phonological and morphological processes within the grammars of a number of different dialects of Dakota.

550 Dakota Verbs by Harlan LaFontaine; Neil McKay
The Dakota language owes much of its expansiveness to its verbs, or action words. 550 Dakota Verbs provides students of Dakota--and the Lakota and Nakota dialects--the proper conjugations for 550 verbs from adi (to step or walk on) to zo (to whistle).

Teaching sacred language curriculum by Saskatchewan Indigenous Cultural Centre
This curriculum gives our Traditional and Indigenous knowledges a place at the front lines in the journey of reviving and preserving our languages. It is developed from a First Nation perspective with the guidance of Elders, master teachers and language champions.

Dakhód Iápi Wičhóie Wówapi (Android)
Dakhód Iápi Wičhóie Wówapi is the best way to look up Dakota words, hear pronunciation while on the go. It's the ultimate electronic Dakota learning and reference tool.
Dakhód Iápi Wičhóie Wówapi (iOS)
iOS version.

I-Portal - Indigenous Studies Portal
Online full text resources for Indigenous studies in all the disciplines, including articles, books, book reviews, websites, archival materials, and theses and dissertations.