Language revitalization - Indigenous languages in Saskatchewan: Nakota / Nakoda
Nakota / Nakoda Language Documentation
- Stoney Nakoda Dictionary OnlineA searchable Stoney Nakoda-English / English-Stoney Nakoda dictionary with audio files.
Nakón-wįco'i'e né ųspénįc'iciyac = Practising Nakoda : a thematic dictionary by A user-friendly guide that teaches the core Nakoda vocabulary and how to use it in conversation. Practising Nakoda contains basic Nakoda vocabulary, organized into 30 themes (such as animals, clothing, directions, and time) and divided into sections meant to enhance daily and ceremonial communication (including dances, ceremonies, and ceremonial clothing).
Nakota / Nakoda Language Teaching and Learning
Nakón-I'a Wo! / Beginning Nakoda by ISBN: 9780889776777Nakón-i'a wo! Beginning Nakoda is a language resource designed to help revitalize and document Nakoda, now spoken in Montana and Saskatchewan. Written for beginning learners of Nakoda, this workbook, arranged thematically, provides a Nakoda/English lexicon, a vocabulary, a table of kinship terms, a glossary of linguistic terminology, and exercises to do after each lesson.
550 Dakota Verbs by The Dakota language owes much of its expansiveness to its verbs, or action words. 550 Dakota Verbs provides students of Dakota--and the Lakota and Nakota dialects--the proper conjugations for 550 verbs from adi (to step or walk on) to zo (to whistle).
Teaching sacred language curriculum by This curriculum gives our Traditional and Indigenous knowledges a place at the front lines in the journey of reviving and preserving our languages. It is developed from a First Nation perspective with the guidance of Elders, master teachers and language champions.
- NAKON'I'A with Theresa O'WatchVia File Hills Qu'Appelle Tribal Council.
- Nakoda Class With PeteVia File Hills Qu'Appelle Tribal Council.
- Nakota (iOS)This app offers learning, practice, games and quizzes in many everyday categories such as greetings, phrases, vowels, expressions and much more!
- Nakota (Android)Android version of the Nakota app.
- Let’s Speak Stoney!Links to the Stoney Nakoda mobile dictionary, Stoney Nakoda vocabulary builder, and the Stoney Nakoda media player for both iOS and Android.
Searching the Library
iPortal
- I-Portal - Indigenous Studies Portal
Online full text resources for Indigenous studies in all the disciplines, including articles, books, book reviews, websites, archival materials, and theses and dissertations.
