Skip to main content

Law Course Reserves: Home

Past course reserve lists for faculty.

Putting items on reserve

  • Request items to be placed on reserve for your students in the Law Library using the electronic form link above.
  • Please submit your Reserve list as early as possible.
  • Reserve lists are processed in the order they are received.
  • Please note that all items will be removed from Reserve at the end of each academic term.
  • For more information regarding library reserve collections, please see Course Reserves for Instructors.
  • U of S Fair Dealing Guidelines - Copyright information

Welcome

Welcome to library reserve lists for University of Saskatchewan College of Law courses. Click on the course name to the left to discover what items were on reserve for the course in the past, as well as the number of times these items circulated.

For current course reserve items, please use the search box below.

Please note that this list of courses is not an exhaustive list of courses offered by the College of Law. The list contains only courses that had items (books, journal articles, etc.) on reserve in the Law Library as of July 15, 2015. Courses that did not have any items on reserve are not included in the list.

Search Current Course Reserves

Find reserves for your courses. Search by course name/number or instructor.


When searching COURSE, type the course name and/or number (e.g. History, ANTH 111, ENG)
When searching PROF/TA, type your instructor's last name (e.g. Zhang, Tony or Zhang)

Guidelines for instructors

What can be put on reserve?

  • Items from any library on campus can be added to a course reserve list.  Anything that can be checked out of the library can be placed on reserve.
     

Instructor's copies

  • You can supply your own items to the library to be placed on reserve for your students. These items will be given a temporary library record and call number and will be shelved with the reserve material. They are returned to you at the end of the term. 
     

Request a Purchase

  • If the Library does not own something that you believe would be beneficial to the Library collection you may Request a Purchase. Please make a note in your request if you would like the item for a reserve list. To ensure items arrive on time please allow up to two months for the item to be added to the Library collection.

Paper copies of journal articles or book chapters

  • Guidelines on the number of copies, the percentage of readings and more can be found in the U of S Fair Dealing Guidelines
     

Links to electronic resources 

  • The library can create links to electronic resources, such as journal articles from the databases we subscribe to. These links appear on the same page as the rest of your class' reserve items, making it easier for student to access everything in one place. When requesting a link, please include the complete citation and permanent link or DOI if possible. 
     
  • Electronic resources appear in reserve collections as persistent links, but not electronic copies.

Loan period options

  • 2 and 4 Hour In: In-library means exactly that. The item stays inside the library while signed out to the student. It is due back by the end of the loan period or when the library closes - whichever comes first. 
     
  • 2 and 4 Hour Out and 1, 3, and 7 day : The item can be taken out of the library but must be returned within the specified time period.
     
  • If an item is signed out but the library will be closed when it is due back (e.g. a "2 hour out" item borrowed just before the library closes for the night), the item will be due the next day within one hour of the library opening. 
     
  • The library computer system tracks loan periods to the minute from with an item goes out to when it is returned. 
     
  • Fines for late reserve books are $1 per hour

Law Library Course Reserve Policy

The Law Library Reserve Collection exists to ensure access to high demand materials for student use. 

Specifically, these are items which have assigned readings for a course. The heavy use of items in this collection is accommodated through very short loan periods and, sometimes, the requirement that materials be used in the library. 

Materials from the Law Library Reference shelf cannot be added to a course reserve list, as they are already in-library use items.

Due to limited Law Library Reserve shelving space, a maximum of 10 books per course is suggested. Any Law Library reserve items in excess of the suggested limit will be added at the discretion of Law Library staff.

Associate Librarian

Greg Wurzer's picture
Greg Wurzer
Contact:
Greg.Wurzer@usask.ca
15 Campus Dr
Law Library
(306) 966-6020
Subjects:Law