Clinical Medicine: Anesthesia

E-Books, Drug Information and Journals

AccessAnesthesiology
An integrated online resource that allows physicians, residents, and nurse anesthetists to "access a compendium of renowned medical resources, including exclusive procedural videos, Custom Curriculum, and powerful search functionality, blended seamlessly with tables and charts designed for quick reference." Offers multiple tools for resident education and certification/recertification in pain management, critical care, and perioperative medicine.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Clinical Key
Scroll down and click on Books, and then from the following page select Anesthesia from the list of specialties at the left. There are 44 titles available.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Books@Ovid
From the main screen at the left, choose "Subject," then "Clinical Medicine," and then "Anesthesiology." There are 24 ebooks on the specialty, with 8 of them published in 2018 or later. Included in this package is 8th edition of Clinical Anesthesia (Barash).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Clinical Anesthesia (print copy of 9th edition)

Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice (6th edition, 2022)

The research guide: a primer for residents, other health care trainees, and practitioners

Drug Information and Point of Care Tools

DynaMed
DynaMed includes thousands of medical graphics and images to help make accurate diagnoses. Topics include concise summaries and detailed recommendations based on the most current evidence. Specialty content can be found in the following areas: Allergy, Cardiology, Critical Care, Dermatology, Ear, Nose, and Throat (ENT), Emergency Medicine, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Orthopedics & Sports, Medicine, Pediatrics, Primary Care, Psychiatry, Pulmonary Medicine, Rheumatology, Surgery, Vascular Medicine. DynaMed content is extensively reviewed by clinical experts.
Access Note: For seamless and secure access to DynaMed, please upgrade to the latest version of Firefox, Chrome, or Edge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
UpToDate Lexidrug
A full-text collection of drug information databases.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
RxFiles: Objective Comparisons for Optimal Drug Therapy
Academic service providing objective, comparative drug information to physicians, pharmacists and allied health professionals. It includes newsletter reviews, Q&As, trial summaries, and up-to-date drug comparison charts. Charts are updated on an ongoing basis and updated versions posted daily, weekly or monthly as necessary.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
CPS (formerly RxTx)
Formerly e-Therapeutics, then RxTx. This resource integrates content from CPhA's Therapeutic Choices and e-CPS, and is augmented by range of external references to create a centralized resource for drug therapy information. Content is updated and reviewed continually. New Health Canada-approved product monographs are added regularly. Includes: CPhAs Therapeutic Choices; e-CPS - Online Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties; Drug Interaction Analyzer; Lexi-Comps Lexi-Interact; Patient Information (printable self-care information for patients written in plain language, available in English and French); Public Drug Plans (links to formularies, criteria, and forms for government drug plans); New Safety Information (links to Health Canada advisories, warnings and recalls directly from applicable drug monographs); Drug Cost (relative drug cost data and pharmacoeconomic assessments); and extensive references and links to external sources including Health Canada's Adverse Drug Reaction reporting and Vaccine-Associated Adverse Event reporting.
Access note: For access to the app, please visit CPS Mobile App
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology Online
An online resource based on Dr. Stephen M. Stahl's books: Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology and The Prescriber's Guide with added content and functionality.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Core Journals in Anesthesia

Anesthesiology Clinics

Anesthesiology

British Journal of Anesthesia

Canadian Journal of Anesthesia

Anesthesia and Analgesia

Pre-Appraised Journal Articles

ACP Journal Club
"ACP Journal Club summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 120 clinical journals. Research staff from McMaster University and clinical editors rigorously assess the scientific merit of the medical literature as it is published and a worldwide panel of over 3600 physicians assesses the clinical relevance and newsworthiness of rigorous studies."

Evidence-Based Medicine
"Evidence-Based Medicine systematically searches a wide range of international medical journals applying strict criteria for the validity of research. Experts critically appraise the validity of the most clinically relevant articles and summarize them including commentary on their clinical applicability. Evidence-Based Medicine also publishes articles relevant to the study and practice of evidence-based medicine."

Journal Article Databases

MEDLINE: Ovid MEDLINE
Major bibliographic database for clinical medicine, including: internal medicine, general medicine, primary care, family medicine, and general practice, as well as: veterinary medicine, nursing, allied health, dentistry, and pre-clinical sciences.
Access Note: Internet Explorer versions 8, 9, and 10 will not be supported after December 31, 2018.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
PubMed
Index and abstract database covering the fields of "medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It includes access to MEDLINE and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. ..[It] also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources."
Access Note: As of July 2021, in order to access your personal MyNCBI account for saved search strategies, etc. you must authenticate via third-party Multi-Factor-Authentication. Please use the link below to choose which third-party option is best for you.
https://ncbiinsights.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/my-ncbi-login-transition-tips/#choosing. If you just wish to search PubMed for locating resources then no further login is required.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.To access full text, you must authenticate with your NSID.
EMBASE: Excerpta Medica & EMBASE Classic
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing "international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation." There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. Includes the archive, EMBASE Classic back to 1947. EMBASE Excerpta Medica Database (EMBASE) is a subset of EMBASE.

Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law. .
Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.