Clinical Medicine: Evidence Based Practice

EBP Resources

ACCESSSS
ACCESSSS is a federated search engine which provides current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts literature searches simultaneously in several different evidence-based information services.
*Note:* Users will have to create an account to search for resources.
This is an open access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Trip
A clinical search engine which provides high-quality research evidence in support of practice/care. Clinicians can search for images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news. Users may access DynaMed through Trip: after performing your search click on the DynaMed tab to see further results. Access Note: You must first "sign up" to create an account. Midway down the "sign up" page you will be asked for you institution. This will allow easy linking between Trip and our full-text holdings. Scroll down until you find the University of Saskatchewan. Make sure to save your profile when you finish.
This is an Open Access resource freely available on the Internet. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.To access full text, you must authenticate with your NSID.

Point of care clinical decision-making tools are designed for rapid answers to clinical questions at the point of patient care. These tools feature syntheses of the current evidence for diagnosis, clinical tests, interventions and more.

The SHA Library provides access to BMJ Best Practice, PEPID, and several other point of care tools, and many of these have mobile apps. If you are a student, resident, or faculty member from the College of Medicine, you are eligible for access. Below you will find information about the point of care tools available through the University of Saskatchewan Library.

DynaMed
DynaMed includes thousands of medical graphics and images to help make accurate diagnoses. Topics include concise summaries and detailed recommendations based on the most current evidence. Specialty content can be found in the following areas: Allergy, Cardiology, Critical Care, Dermatology, Ear, Nose, and Throat (ENT), Emergency Medicine, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Orthopedics & Sports, Medicine, Pediatrics, Primary Care, Psychiatry, Pulmonary Medicine, Rheumatology, Surgery, Vascular Medicine. DynaMed content is extensively reviewed by clinical experts.
Access Note: For seamless and secure access to DynaMed, please upgrade to the latest version of Firefox, Chrome, or Edge.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
VisualDx
VisualDx is a web-based system that assists "in the identification of dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, nutritional and occupational diseases, benign and malignant growths, drug-induced conditions, and other injuries."
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Natural Medicines
...provides a comprehensive listing of natural medicine brand name product ingredients and encyclopedic entries with extensive references.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

BestBets. ...critically appraised topics "designed specifically for Emergency Medicine."

Clinical Key
Clinical Overviews is the Point of Care tool within Clinical Key. "Clinical Overviews provide a clinically focused summary of a topic. They include 'key points', 'pitfalls' and 'urgent action' (where applicable) to match the clinician workflow. Clinical overviews can be searched and browsed." Click the drop-down menu to the left of the search box on the main screen to search just Clinical Overviews.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
PEN: Practice-based Evidence in Nutrition
Current and authoritative guide to answers to day-to-day nutrition questions encountered in dietetics practice in all settings. Access Note: Since access to this resource is restricted to 9 simultaneous users, please click on Log Out at the end of your session.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Cochrane Library
...a collection of databases that contain Cochrane systematic reviews, other systematic reviews, health technology assessments, CENTRAL register of randomized controlled trials, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) and more.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

ACP Journal Club
"ACP Journal Club summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 120 clinical journals...."Research staff and clinical editors rigorously assess the scientific merit of the medical literature as it is published and a worldwide panel of over 5000 physicians assesses the clinical relevance and newsworthiness of rigorous studies."

Evidence-Based Medicine
"Evidence-Based Medicine systematically searches a wide range of international medical journals applying strict criteria for the validity of research. Experts critically appraise the validity of the most clinically relevant articles and summarize them including commentary on their clinical applicability. Evidence-Based Medicine also publishes articles relevant to the study and practice of evidence-based medicine."

CPS (formerly RxTx)
Formerly e-Therapeutics, then RxTx. This resource integrates content from CPhA's Therapeutic Choices and e-CPS, and is augmented by range of external references to create a centralized resource for drug therapy information. Content is updated and reviewed continually. New Health Canada-approved product monographs are added regularly. Includes: CPhAs Therapeutic Choices; e-CPS - Online Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties; Drug Interaction Analyzer; Lexi-Comps Lexi-Interact; Patient Information (printable self-care information for patients written in plain language, available in English and French); Public Drug Plans (links to formularies, criteria, and forms for government drug plans); New Safety Information (links to Health Canada advisories, warnings and recalls directly from applicable drug monographs); Drug Cost (relative drug cost data and pharmacoeconomic assessments); and extensive references and links to external sources including Health Canada's Adverse Drug Reaction reporting and Vaccine-Associated Adverse Event reporting.
Access note: For access to the app, please visit CPS Mobile App
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
UpToDate Lexidrug
A full-text collection of drug information databases; includes Natural Products Database (also known as Review of Natural Products).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
RxFiles: Objective Comparisons for Optimal Drug Therapy
Academic service providing objective, comparative drug information to physicians, pharmacists and allied health professionals.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology Online
An online resource based on Dr. Stephen M. Stahl's books: Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology and The Prescriber's Guide.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.
Review of Natural Products
This link takes you to the freestanding version of Review of Natural Products. It is also available within Lexicomp, where it is known as the Natural Products Database. The Review of Natural Products provides detailed information about natural products, including their botany, history, chemistry, pharmacology, medicinal uses, toxicology, and patient information. It also includes significantly documented drug interactions. Provides up-to-date, objective assessment of the latest medical and scientific studies on natural products, including medically active foods (nutraceuticals).
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
The U.S. "federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine." Contains some information for consumers.

Natural Medicines
A resource providing information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Saskatchewan, and walk-in users, for educational, research, and non-commercial personal use. Systematic copying or downloading of electronic resource content is not permitted by Canadian and international copyright law.

Canadian Guidelines

CPG Infobase was a database of Canadian practice guidelines curated by the CMA. It has been discontinued, but the CMA has put together a list of agencies and societies that produce Canadian guidelines.

Canadian Diabetes Association: Clinical Practice Guidelines

DynaMed entries for specific conditions contain a section called "guidelines and resources" which often list Canadian guidelines.

SOGC (Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada) Clinical Practice Guidelines -- These are no longer available free on the Society website, but are part of our journal subscription. Go to Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Canada, click "online version", click the "go" button under Clinical Key on the following page, and then copy the title of the guideline into the search box just under the journal title to "search this journal". I would advise against using guideline numbers because these don't seem to be entered consistently.

General Guideline Databases

ECRI Guidelines Trust. Now available (as of January 2024), after a long absence -- no longer requires users to set up an account. This is meant to be a replacement for the National Guideline Clearinghouse, whose funding ended in 2018.

NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence)

Topic- or Specialty-Specific Guideline Databases

American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines

Cancer Guidelines Database -- Canadian and international cancer guidelines

Canadian Diabetes Association: Clinical Practice Guidelines

Pediatric Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies (2024 edition) from the American Academy of Pediatrics

Clinical Medicine: Evidence Based Practice

EBP Resources

New and Updated Cochrane Reviews